Users: 0
Guests: 198
Total: 198

New to Cripzone, new to forums generally

Started by nidec, Sep 20, 19, 09:01:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nidec

Hi, Im new to this so fingers crossed.
Ive created a forum www.NotTheNoobs.com  using Cleantek which I really like, but there are a few things Id like to tweak, if anyone can help me

First off, I wasnt expecting to go straight to the forum, I was expecting a sort of website home or landing page where I could talk a bit about the forums objectives, with a link to the forum itself. Is this doable?

Second, I want to reorder and rename some of the buttons (Home, Help, Search, etc)

Thirdly, can I add a news stream in place of the manually-entered new at the top left of the page?

Thanks in advance,

Nidec

Skhilled

Hello, nidec and welcome to CZ! :)

1. You would need to install a portal such as Tinyportal, Simple Portal, or EZ Portal. Either one of those will give you the ability to automatically have a Home page as well as creating extra pages and articles. You can also use premade blocks or create your own blocks as you see on this and other sites.

2.  The code for the buttons is in /Sources/Subs.php, near the bottom of the file. Make sure you back the file up before editing it.

3.  I'm not quite sure what you mean by "manually-entered new at the top left of the page". Please explain or show me a screenshot of what you are talking about.

nidec

Hi Skhilled, thanks for the quick reply.

On the news feed question, ive made a mistype. It should have read 'Can I add a news stream in place of the manually-entered news at the top left of the page?"   By this I mean the News article underneath the website name on https://notthenoobs.com/index.php

Skhilled

LOL, OK I did not see that before when I went to your site. The site didn't look like that earlier but I thought that's what you meant.