TheCripZone SMF Themes Site

All Things Public => Theme Support => Topic started by: lahn on Jul 29, 10, 01:07:24 AM

Title: BlackRain V3 charset issue?
Post by: lahn on Jul 29, 10, 01:07:24 AM
Hey, I've recently stumbled across your themes, and BlackRain V3 was gorgeous! - so it's my default theme now... anyway!

My problem is the display list of which sub boards I'm currently browsing. For instance while making this post, in the upper left side it says
"Cripzone >> Theme Support >> Theme Support >> Start new Topic - on my SMF 2.03RC this doesn't work with your theme! - it works with the default though.

it replaces the >> with an 'unknown character sign'
screenshot here: (http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/594/forumb.png)

have a look at it here : http://forums.shadowstalkersguild.com/index.php?board=54.0

I thought it originally was my database's character set that was off, so I converted it to UTF-8 with SMF, without any luck. (which btw, with Black Rain V3, it's hard to see whether checkboxes are ticked :P)

Any hints on how I can fix that please?

Thank you
Title: Re: BlackRain V3 charset issue?
Post by: Crip on Jul 29, 10, 07:01:04 AM
You can just replace the Linktree in : : [index.template.php]

Just-Below :
</body></html>';
}
Replace all with :

// Show a linktree. This is that thing that shows "My Community | General Category | General Discussion"..
function theme_linktree($force_show = false)
{
   global $context, $settings, $options, $shown_linktree;

   // If linktree is empty, just return - also allow an override.
   if (empty($context['linktree']) || (!empty($context['dont_default_linktree']) && !$force_show))
      return;

   echo '
   <ul class="linktree" id="linktree_', empty($shown_linktree) ? 'upper' : 'lower', '">';

   // Each tree item has a URL and name. Some may have extra_before and extra_after.
   foreach ($context['linktree'] as $link_num => $tree)
   {
      echo '
      <li', ($link_num == count($context['linktree']) - 1) ? ' class="last"' : '', '>';

      // Show something before the link?
      if (isset($tree['extra_before']))
         echo $tree['extra_before'];

      // Show the link, including a URL if it should have one.
      echo $settings['linktree_link'] && isset($tree['url']) ? '
         <a href="' . $tree['url'] . '"><span>' . $tree['name'] . '</span>[/url]' : '<span>' . $tree['name'] . '</span>';

      // Show something after the link...?
      if (isset($tree['extra_after']))
         echo $tree['extra_after'];

      // Don't show a separator for the last one.
      if ($link_num != count($context['linktree']) - 1)
         echo ' &gt;';

      echo '
      </li>';
   }
   echo '
   </ul>';

   $shown_linktree = true;
}


========>
This should fix the weird character thing , if not just report/post here again.
Title: Re: BlackRain V3 charset issue?
Post by: lahn on Jul 29, 10, 11:25:52 AM
Thanks, I managed to fix it! :)

in line 444 I found
echo ' »';
which should just be replaced with
echo ' »';

Cheers!
Title: Re: BlackRain V3 charset issue?
Post by: Crip on Jul 29, 10, 11:32:25 AM
that will work too , seems it 'linktree' gets off during the theme install .. but i dunno..?

..glad it works now.
Title: Re: BlackRain V3 charset issue?
Post by: lahn on Jul 29, 10, 12:01:55 PM
hmm, I found another similar bug, but fixed it myself too, just reporting it in case you're interested:

This happens for boards that are collapsible

(http://img641.imageshack.us/img641/8093/boardchar.png)

The bug is in file BoardIndex.template.php on line 95
<a href="', $category['collapse_href'], '">', $category['collapse_image'], '</a> ';
the trailing space in </a> '; isn't a regular whitespace for some reason!
Title: Re: BlackRain V3 charset issue?
Post by: Crip on Jul 29, 10, 12:19:27 PM
thanks for the info , only you thus far has had these issues  , but if someone else does i will inspect it..